Picture credit - HBCU Lifestyle

The White House announced on Monday the launching of Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCU) Competitiveness Scholars program. The program is designed to honor current HBCU students for their competitiveness and successfully preparing to compete for top opportunities to improve standards of living in their communities.

During the specified academic school year, Scholars will serve as representatives at their respective schools and communities to the White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities (WHIHBCU).

The WHIHBCU will provide outreach and engagement opportunities for Scholars as well as information and resources to disseminate among their fellow students. Scholars will participate in regional events, webinars, and monthly web chats with the WHIHBCU staff and other professionals from a wide range of disciplines.  Scholars also will have opportunities to engage with one another to showcase individual and collective talent across the HBCU spectrum.

The President or Chancellor will determine the nominee from their institution. The WHIHBCU will accept no more than one nominee per school. Although each HBCU is allowed one (1) nominee, institutions may appeal to the WHIHBCU for one (1) additional nominee. The WHIHBCU will work with the President or Chancellor on a case-by-case basis to review, approve or deny each appeal. The HBCU Competitiveness Scholar nomination form must be submitted and endorsed by the President, Chancellor or designated surrogate. The WHIHBCU will electronically collect nominations and narrative responses.

HBCU program was started by an executive order signed by President Jimmy Carter in 1980 which established the White House Initiative on HBCUs. The goal of the program is to help HBCU gain access to federally funded programs and strengthen HBCU institutions.

This is a nationwide program and there are more than 100 HBCUs. The HBCUs in Georgia include the following:

  • Albany State University
  • Clark Atlanta University
  • Fort Valley State University
  • Interdenominational Theological Center
  • Morehouse College
  • Morehouse School of Medicine
  • Morris Brown College
  • Paine College
  • Savannah State University
  • Spellman College

More information on how to apply and eligibility are attached and can be found HERE  All nomination forms must be to: hbcuscholars@ed.gov no later than July 31, 2018.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here